L A N D – Night Within (vinyl)

Released at September 7, 2012

Release date:

September 7, 2012 


Copyright Control LAND 2012.



Packaged in deluxe first edition letterpressed jackets. LP is numbered & pressed in an edition of 500. First 100 copies on color vinyl.

Guest contributions include David Sylvian, Daniel O’Sullivan (Miracle and Ulver), Duke Garwood and many others with the two creators, Daniel Lea and Matthew Waters, both taking a directorial role. The album was sculpted in Reykjavik by Ben Frost, enhanced by his signature aural physicality and visceral sub bass. The album is a vast collision of sound, from free brass and woodwind to “geometric” bowed cymbals and metallic percussion.

But more than simply music, the multidisciplinary L A N D draw on and evoke a wide range of art forms. They describe this work as, “approaching an apocalyptic noir narrative,” and Night Within, despite its slate visual appeal which recalls the grey paintings of Gerhard Richter, thematically points towards a world occupied by the early postmodern detective stories of Paul Auster and the urban neon dislocation of Taxi Driver with its existential protagonist roaming the city alone late at night.

Composed and produced by Daniel Lea & Matthew Waters.
Mixed by Ben Frost at Greenhouse Studios, Reykjavik
Mastered by Christian Wright at Abbey Road Studios, London
All material Copyright Control LAND 2012.

Nothing Is Happening Everywhere:

Vocals by David Sylvian
Recorded at Samadhisound
Music by Daniel Lea & MAtthew Waters
Lyrics by David Sylvian
Published by Samadhisound Publishing/Campbell Connely & Co Ltd./Copyright Control


Paul Cook: Drums & Percussion
Matthew Cousins: Bass & Percussion
Tom Farmer: Double Bass
Dom Garwood: Clarinet
Duke Garwood: Saxophone & Alto Clarinet
Jamie McCarthy: Strings & Piano
Daniel O’Sullivan: Piano
David Sylvian: Vocals
Alexander Tucker: Bowed Mandolin
Richard Turner: Trumpet

In memoriam of Richard Turner R.I.P.

Tracklist vinyl

Side A
1. Nothing Is Happening Everywhere
2. Into The Blue
3. Stillman
4. Nighthawks

Side B
1. Cosmopolis
2. Hotel Room
3. Cold Desire


©2024 davidsylvian.net | Privacy Policy


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?