Ryuichi Sakamoto – Async (feat. David Sylvian)

async - Japanese cover

David Sylvian is featuring on the track Life, Life, performing the poem ‘And This I Dreamt, And This I Dream’, by Arseny Tarkowsky (from the bundle Life, Life). David performing ‘From An Old Notebook’ from Life, Life was played live by Sakamoto (David with poem prerecorded) at the Concert For Japan (2011).


From pitchfork.com:

Ryuichi Sakamoto has announced a new studio album, async, out April 28 via Milan. It’s the Japanese composer’s first studio album since 2012’s Three, with Jaques Morelenbaum and Judy Kang, and his first solo album in 8 years. Sakamoto recorded and conceived of the album in New York, taking inspiration from “everyday objects, sculpture, and nature,” according to a press release. Find the tracklist and artwork below. A world premiere listening event for the album (in 5.1 surround sound) will take place at Big Ears Festival in Knoxville, Tennessee, which runs from March 23-26. Sakamoto’s also set to perform on April 25 and 26 at Park Avenue Armory Veterans Room in New York. The new album follows his 2015 score for Alejandro González Iñárritu’s film The Revenant (where he was assisted by the National’s Bryce Dessner and German musician Alva Noto). It’s also his first studio album since his recovery from cancer in 2015.

From Factmag.com:

The LP was conceived for “an Andrei Tarkovsky film that does not exist.”

In January, Ryuichi Sakamoto announced the release of his first album in eight years. Now the legendary composer has shared details about the upcoming LP, including inspirations and recording process.

Largely recorded in NYC, with some elements pulled from field recordings and museums around the world, async plays with “ideas of a-synchronism, prime numbers, chaos, quantum physics and the blurred lines of life and artificiality/noise and music,” according to the press release

Sakamoto conceived the idea of writing a score for an Andrei Tarkovsky film “that does not exist” during the production process, while at the same time taking inspiration from “everyday objects, sculpture, and nature.”

The 15-track LP marks the composer’s first original album since 2009’s Out Of Noise and will be his first since after recovering from throat cancer. It’s set for release on April 28 via Milan Records.


  1. ‘andata’
  2. ‘disintegration’
  3. ‘solari’
  4. ‘ZURE’
  5. ‘walker’
  6. ‘stakra’
  7. ‘ubi’
  8. ‘fullmoon’
  9. ‘async’
  10. ‘tri’
  11. ‘Life, Life’
  12. ‘honj’
  13. ‘ff’
  14. ‘garden’
  15. ‘water state 2’ (vinyl only bonus track)

©2024 davidsylvian.net | Privacy Policy


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?