David Bowie and Ryuichi Sakamoto Film Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence Soundtrack Reissued

Featuring David Sylvian on Forbidden Colours!
Academy Award-winning composer Sakamoto both starred in and scored the 1983 film.

In 1983, David Bowie and Ryuichi Sakamoto (celebrated composer and Yellow Magic Orchestra member) starred in the film Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence. Directed by Nagisa Ôshima, the film follows a British soldier (played by Bowie) in a Japanese prison camp during World War II. Sakamoto played a young soldier at the camp who develops an intimate relationship with Bowie’s character.  Sakamoto also composed the film’s score, which won the 1983 BAFTA Award for Best Film Music.

Milan Records will reissue Sakamoto’s score on October 21. It is the latest release in Milan’s Nicolas Winding Refn Presents series. Previous releases in the series includes Disasterpeace’s It Follows OST and Brad Fiedel’s The Terminator OST. Below you can find the score’s tracklist, as well as the reissue’s artwork, designed by Laurent Durieux.

Milan will also release Sakamoto’s recent score for Yoji Yamada’s film Nagasaki: Memories of My Son on September 23. Go here to listen to one of the score’s tracks, “Ghost.”

Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence:

  1. Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
  2. Batavia
  3. Germination
  4. A Hearty Breakfast
  5. Before The War
  6. The Seed and The Sower
  7. A Brief Encounter
  8. Ride, Ride, Ride (Cellier’s Brother’s Song)
  9. The Fight
  10. Father Christmas
  11. Dismissed
  12. Assembly
  13. Beyond Reason
  14. Sowing The Seed
  15. 23rd Psalm
  16. Last Regrets
  17. Ride, Ride, Ride
  18. The Seed
  19. Forbidden Colors (vocals by David Sylvian)

©2024 davidsylvian.net | Privacy Policy


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?